Beyond the Gates (Shooting Dogs) (Dario Marianelli)


[itunes id=”264122647″]


Academy Award-nominated composer Dario Marianelli (Pride and Prejudice, The Brothers Grimm, V for Vendetta) has crafted one of his most beautiful and emotionally charged scores for the British drama Beyond the Gates, known outside the USA as Shooting Dogs. The original soundtrack album features Marianelli’s orchestral score in conjunction with a number of African songs performed by the Chorale de Kigali and the Voices of Kicukiro in Rwanda.

Beyond the Gates, starring Oscar nominated actor John Hurt, Hugh Dancy and Dominique Horwitz, is veteran director Michael Caton-Jones’ very strong film about the horrendous genocide in Rwanda in 1994, where 800,000 people were killed in 100 days. Composer Dario Marianelli, who is no stranger to the genre having scored Michael Winterbottom’s much acclaimed In This World in 2002, says that the music had to connect with the story in “a very direct and truthful way”. While doing research for the score, Marianelli discovered that at the time of the genocide a lot of Tutsis were listening to the songs of Cecile Kayirebwa, who had become the voice of their plight. “The power of the images, and of the truth behind them, was crying for something simple and direct, and I thought that if I could find the right kind of woman’s voice, it could have a very direct emotional impact,” Dario Marianelli explains. The voice of Cecile Kayirebwa was the “hook” needed as to anchor the score in the real suffering of the period.

Under its original title, Shooting Dogs, the film has been recently released theatrically in countries such as Germany, Spain and Japan. For the US market, the film was released as Beyond the Gates on DVD on September 18, 2007, by 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment.

Beyond the Gates marks MovieScore Media’s second Dario Marianelli album (the first one was the label’s first entry in the ‘Discovery Collection’: I Capture the Castle, MMS07004).

CD edition is limited to 500 copies. OUT OF PRINT!

MMS07010 • BEYOND THE GATES (Shooting Dogs) (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music Composed by DARIO MARIANELLI
Release date: October 9, 2007


1. Hell’s Gate 1.33
2. Nyirigira 1.20
3. Empty Roads 1.26
4. Machetes 3.52
5. Is God Here 1.16
6. Dufite Imana Ikomeye Cyane 1.31
7. Last Offering 2.14
8. The Radion Won’t Stop 2.22
9. Speechless 2.40
10. No Way Out 3.34
11. How Do You Call This? 3.15
12. Wari Mw’isi 0.35
13. Remember Us 5.13
14. We Turned Our Backs 3.42

    Beyond the Gates (Shooting Dogs) (Dario Marianelli)

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>