Headspace (Ryan Shore)


[itunes id=”184733238″]


Headspace is the directorial debut of Andrew van den Houten and stars Olivia Hussey, William Atherton, Sean Young, Dee Wallace-Stone, Mark Margolis and Larry Fessenden. The winner of the ”Best Screenplay” and ”Best Cinematography” awards at the New York City Horror Film festival last year,Headspace was described by Slasherpool.com as ”an interesting combination of creature feature and psychological thriller.” Hollywood Reporter noted that the director ”displays a strong ability for creating an air of atmospheric tension,” a quality of the film which definitely owes a lot to Ryan Shore’s highly original score.

Genre web site Joe Horror wrote that Shore’s music is ”one of the better horror soundtracks I’ve heard in recent years. It’s refreshingly short on nu-metal and if I’m not mistaken, I’m pretty sure I heard… a non-synthesized orchestra.” Indeed, the score for Headspace was recorded with a first-rate symphony orchestra, The Slovak National Symphony Orchestra recorded in Bratislava.

Ryan Shore is an up and coming Canadian composer with a surname that surely catches the attention of a lof of film music aficionados: Ryan is the nephew of Howard Shore, the composer of famous The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Just like Howard, Ryan Shore studied at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. He won the first Elmer Bernstein Scoring Award at the Woodstock Film Festival in 2001, and since then he has scored numerous features, including Prime (starring Meryl Streep and Uma Thurman), Harvard Men (Sarah Michelle Gellar) andConfession (Chris Pine). 31-year old Ryan Shore is considered to be one of the most interesting young film composers and he has recently composed original source music for the upcoming drama Fur, starring Nicole Kidman as revered photographer Diane Arbus.

Shore’s score for Headspace is a stylish orchestral work with subtle elements of electronic sound design. It also features a string quartet, a gregorian choral piece, an infectious jazz tune (performed by the Ryan Shore Quartet), and a beautiful arrangement of Bach’s ”Ave Maria”.

MMS06011 • HEADSPACE (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music composed, orchestrated and conducted by RYAN SHORE
Release date: September 12, 2006


1 Headspace 3:22
2 The Staircase 2:38
3 Therapy 2:22
4 The Hospital 1:53
5 Dr. Gold 1:39
6 Brain Tests 2:15
7 The Wind Down 1:52
8 The Dot 2:02
9 The Adoption Agency 1:49
10 Phrenology 2:15
11 Bulletin Board 2:15
12 Dr. Murphy 2:23
13 Lady in Waiting 3:08
14 Boris Pavlovsky 3:48
15 The Birthday Party 2:00
16 The Bathroom 1:56
17 Christi Spiritu 4:21
18 Harry’s Apartment 3:57
19 Chess 1:37
20 The Beast 5:28
21 Alex’s Realization 1:12
22 Ave Maria 3:02

    Headspace (Ryan Shore)

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>