Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/moviesco/public_html/wp-content/themes/gallery/admin/functions.php on line 183
Comforting Skin (Alain Mayrand)

Comforting Skin (Alain Mayrand)


[itunes id=”472958699″]


“It is a measure of Mayrand’s depth of writing and his grasp of the chamber orchestra (as well as the excellent Vancouver recording), that the music works so well as a separate listening experience.” (Reel Music)

Following the film’s world premiere at the Vancouver Film Festival, Screamworks Records presents the original score from Derek Franson’s surreal drama about a young woman’s relationship with a shifting and whispering tattoo she has willed to life on her skin. The highly original music for Comforting Skin, written for a chamber ensemble consisting of strings, woodwinds and piano, is by Canadian composer Alain Mayrand, whose highly entertaining and playful large orchestral score for The Legend of Silkboy was released by MovieScore Media last year. The fascinating score for Comforting Skin reflects states of desolation, despair and dementia, effectively making use of stark contrasts between poignant melodies and atonal colors evoked by a wide variety of extended techniques. This is Screamworks Records first digital only release.

SWD0001 • Comforting Skin (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music Composed and Conducted by Alain Mayrand
Release date: October 18, 2011 (digital only)


1 Tears at the Mirror 1.08
2 Making a Change 2.27
3 The Arrival 4.47
4 Love at First Touch 2.35
5 Day Out with Peg 1.33
6 Just Leave Me Alone 4.34
7 Nathan and the Tattoo 2.10
8 Girl Talk 1.59
9 I Love You & Bar Scene 2.33
10 Nathan Investigates 3.27
11 Old Photographs, Vacuums and Pop Rocks 4.21
12 Last Talk with Peg & Christmas Haze 2.26
13 Come Back to Bed 3.11
14 Coming Undone 1.16
15 Leave Us Alone 6.55
16 Tears and Razor Blades 2.03

    Comforting Skin (Alain Mayrand)