Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/moviesco/public_html/wp-content/themes/gallery/admin/functions.php on line 183
Tale of a Forest (Metsän Tarina) (Panu Aaltio)

Tale of a Forest (Metsän Tarina) (Panu Aaltio)


[itunes id=”588428743″]



### WINNER OF THE INTERNATIONAL FILM MUSIC CRITICS ASSOCIATION AWARD for “Best Original Score for a Documentary Feature” ###

SCORE NOMINATED FOR TWO ‘SOUNDTRACK GEEK AWARDS’ (“Best Original Score” and “Best Documentary Score”) 


“A real gem of a score by anyone’s standards, one of the most impressive of 2012.” – Movie Wave

A strong contender for the title ‘Best Documentary Score’ of the year 2012, Panu Aaltio’s original music for the first Finnish feature length nature documentary to receive a wide domestic theatrical release is a also one of the most beautiful soundtracks of the year. Following the example set by composers such as Bruno Coulais (Oceans, Winged Migration) and George Fenton (Planet Earth, Life), Aaltio underscores the drama and emotions of this wildlife adventure with broad but sophisticated brush strokes. Several themes are heard throughout the score, and the sheer beauty of these tracks are contrasted by playful scherzos showcasing inspired writing for flutes, woodwinds and pizzicato strings and majestic fanfares for brass, strings and percussion.

MovieScore Media’s releases of Aaltio’s scores for The Home of Dark Butterflies and Dawn of the Dragonslayer has already established the composer as one to watch – with the arrival of the music for Metsän tarina, there is no doubt that he is one of the most talented of his generation!

MMS13003 / MMD0021 • TALE OF A FOREST (METSÄN TARINA) (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Music Composed by PANU AALTIO
Release date (digital): December 18, 2012
UK release date (CD): June 10, 2013
US release date (CD): August 6, 2013


1 The Tale of a Forest 2:47
2 A New Beginning 3:46
3 The Little Ones 2:08
4 A Midsummer Treasure 1:44
5 Snowfall 2:33
6 The Woodland Spirit 4:35
7 Spring Wonder 2:56
8 Days Gone By 2:35
9 Ant Kingdom 2:23
10 Stone of the Snakes 1:58
11 Home 2:50
12 The Bird and the Squirrel 3:14
13 Twig Traffic 2:30
14 Raindrops 2:24
15 Love, Care and Respect 6:24
16 The World Tree 2:02
17 Forsaken 1:58
18 A Forest Adventure 2:35

Digital album cover

Digital album cover

    Tale of a Forest (Metsän Tarina) (Panu Aaltio)