Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/moviesco/public_html/wp-content/themes/gallery/admin/functions.php on line 183
Shock Head Soul (Roger Goula)

Shock Head Soul (Roger Goula)


[itunes id=”578682245″]


“A rich score by Roger Goula enhances the atmosphere throughout without upstaging or overemphasizing the emotional register.” – Variety

Featuring a strikingly original score by Roger Goula, Shock Head Soul is an acclaimed cross-media documentary directed by BAFTA-winning filmmaker Simon Pummell, who already showed great musical taste when he hired Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead to score his 2003 feature Bodysong.

The film explores the writings of Daniel Paul Schreber, a lawyer who claimed that he received messages from God via a ‘writing down machine’. Goula’s superb score was performed by the Raven quartet and is both an avant-garde piece of work as well as a soundtrack that follows the narrative of the film. Pieces relate to such idioms as a-atonalism and French avant-garde minimalism as well as late romanticism. Instrumental colors in addition to the string quartet include the early electronic instrument, the ondes martenot, and piano.

MMD0019 • SHOCK HEAD SOUL (Original Soundtrack)
Music Composed by ROGER GOULA
Release date (digital only): November 20, 2012


1 Winter in Dresden 2:47
2 The Miscarriage 0:55
3 The First Crisis 1:25
4 Extreme Methods 2:23
5 At the Doctor 1:53
6 A Delicate Matter 0:39
7 The Brain Sculpture 1:35
8 You’re Dead to Me 4:00
9 He’s Not Alone 2:00
10 In Solitude 1:45
11 Becoming a Woman 1:24
12 Knew It Would Come 2:37
13 G1oing Home 1:12
14 The Delusional System 4:02
15 At Home 2:28
16 Shock Head Soul Theme 3:00

    Shock Head Soul (Roger Goula)